We’ve visited all 193 countries recognised by the UN plus 2 observer states Vatican City and Palestine + Kosovo and Taiwan

Where We
Where We've Been Click for Destinations

How many countries are there in the world?

There are 195 countries in the world today according to the United Nations. This total comprises 193 countries that are member states of the United Nations. Plus 2 countries are non-member observer states: the Holy See (Vatican City) and the State of Palestine.

Of course, there are disputed territories (such as Kosovo, Taiwan, and Western Sahara). And dependent territories (Cook Islands, Puerto Rico, and Aruba). And territories with special status (Hong Kong and Macau). But initially, we were aiming to stick to the UN list.

Disputed Territories

We would like to visit all 10 disputed territories as well, but that might take a few more years.

Follow our Adventures!

Countries Visited 195/195

Currently in Thailand